×

FIGHT AGAINST OVER-INDEBTEDNESS

There has never been more over indebted people on the European continent than in 2018. Luxembourg, a country among the richest, seems far from this concern. Nonetheless, the Grand-Duchy is not left unscathed; despite high salaries, the living cost and especially the real estate prices are particularly high. Although the vast majority of over indebtedness people are disadvantaged members of society, it also affects employees and senior executives.

The consequences of over indebtedness are humanly and economically dramatic but the taboo existing on this subject makes them difficult to quantify. Still, many stakeholders are affected : associations and social offices which manage the files, employers who deal with their employees’ wage withholding or even companies which face unpaid dividends. Over-indebtedness therefore is subject of concern and the numerous actors involved have to mobilize and act in a harmonised way in order to tackle this social issue.

The main issues

  • A complex subject that requires a holistic approach
  • A preventive approach not sufficiently efficient due to the lack of collaboration between actors
  • A taboo subject and a stereotypical image of over indebted people
  • Lack of financial literacy among the Luxembourg population

 

Our approach

We believe that private companies, public organizations and social and solidarity-based companies would benefit from a more collaborative approach to tackle the issue of over indebtedness at each stage : from prevention to support for people in financial distress.

It is from this perspective that IMS Luxembourg, in collaboration with the Ministry of Labour, Employment and the Social and Solidarity Economy, the ULESS and 6zero1, organised a cycle of co-creation workshops on the issue of over-indebtedness. IMS member companies, social companies, non-profit organizations and public organizations gathered in an environment conducive to collaborative work and together they imagined concrete and innovative solutions.

 

For more informations, please contact Lorraine Marquis.

 

The projects  imagined by the participants

MOBILE APPLICATION FOR FINANCIAL LITERACY

Challenge: lack of financial and budget knowledge among young people
Solution: change the budget management and financial literacy in a positive way through the development of a fun financial literacy mobile app


 

PREVENTION TOOL FOR OVER-INDEBTEDNESS

Challenge: lack of prevention from public and private actors
Solution: developing an analysis tool that would allow organisations to detect risky profiles among the customers or employees in order to prevent over-indebtedness situations through a budgetary support
 

NATIONAL AWARENESS CAMPAIGN

Challenge: the network of actors in charge of the support of over-indebted people is not visible and coordinated enough and over-indebtedness is a taboo subject
Solution: national awareness-raising campaign shattering the taboo on over-indebtedness and encouraging people with financial difficulties to turn to the competent services

We have gathered several resources and documents on the topic of over-indebtedness and on the specific context in the Grand-Duchy.

The new thematic report on over-indebtedness in Luxembourg summarizes the work and discussions of the four workshops. It gives an overview of the issue of over-indebtedness in Luxembourg : key figures and information, progress of the workshops and concrete solutions.

A database is also available on request for IMS members or participants of the workshops. It provides information on the different projects, the history of the workshops and general information on the fight against over-indebtedness in Luxembourg :

  • Resources and data on over-indebtedness
  • Expertise and good practices
  • Project note

×

LUTTE CONTRE LE SURENDETTEMENT

En 2018, jamais le continent européen n’a abrité autant de surendettés. Le Luxembourg, pays parmi les plus riches du continent semble bien loin de ce problème. Il n’est pourtant pas épargné car malgré de hauts salaires, le coût de la vie et notamment de l’immobilier, y est particulièrement élevé. Et si dans la plupart des cas les situations de surendettement touchent des populations défavorisées, cela n’empêche pas les salariés et cadres supérieurs d’être affectés.

Les conséquences du surendettement, dramatiques humainement et financièrement, ne sont pas chiffrées au Luxembourg et le tabou qui persiste autour du sujet n’aide pas à réunir des données. Ce sont pourtant de multiples acteurs qui sont concernés : des associations et offices sociaux qui traitent les dossiers, aux employeurs qui voient les salaires de leurs collaborateurs saisis en passant par les entreprises qui font face aux impayés. Le surendettement est donc un véritable enjeu sociétal, et cette multitude de parties-prenantes doit se mobiliser et agir de concert pour y remédier.

Les enjeux

  • Complexité du sujet qui implique une approche systémique
  • Manque d’efficacité dans l’approche de prévention, dû à un manque de collaboration entre acteurs
  • Sujet tabou et idée stéréotypée des personnes surendettées
  • Manque de connaissances financières et budgétaires dans la population luxembourgeoise

 

Notre approche

Nous pensons que les entreprises privées, organisations publiques et sociales et entreprises de l’économie sociale et solidaire auraient tout à gagner à travailler ensemble pour lutter plus efficacement contre le surendettement, de la prévention jusqu’à l’accompagnement.

C’est dans cette optique que IMS Luxembourg, le Ministère du Travail, de l’Emploi et de l’Economie sociale et solidaire, l’ULESS et 6zero1 ont organisé un cycle d’atelier de co-création sur la thématique du surendettement. Acteurs du secteur public, privé, associatif et social se sont réunis dans un environnement propice au travail collectif afin d’identifier ensemble des solutions concrètes et innovantes.

Pour en savoir plus, n'hésitez pas à contacter Lorraine Marquis.

 

Les projets imaginés par les participants

APPLICATION MOBILE D’ÉDUCATION FINANCIÈRE
Défi : manque de connaissances financières et budgétaires chez les jeunes
Solution : transformer le budget et l’éducation financière de manière positive en développant une application mobile ludique d’éducation financière destinée aux jeunes

 

OUTIL DE PRÉVENTION DU SURENDETTEMENT
Défi
 : manque de prévention et d’anticipation de la part des acteurs publics et privés face au phénomène du surendettement
Solution : développer un outil d'analyse permettant aux organisations luxembourgeoises de détecter les profils à risque parmi leurs employés ou clients et de prévenir toute situation de surendettement à travers un accompagnement budgétaire

 

CAMPAGNE DE SENSIBILISATION NATIONALE
Défi
 : manque de visibilité et de coordination des acteurs du réseau d’accompagnement des personnes touchées par le surendettement, tabou autour du phénomène
Solution : campagne de sensibilisation à destination de l’ensemble de la population luxembourgeoise qui vise à briser le tabou sur le surendettement et à inciter les personnes concernées à avoir recours aux services compétents

Nous disposons de nombreuses ressources sur le sujet du surendettement et sur le contexte spécifique au Luxembourg.

Le rapport thématique sur le surendettement au Luxembourg fait la synthèse des réflexions et du travail issus des quatre ateliers et offre un aperçu de l’enjeu du surendettement au Luxembourg : chiffres et informations-clés, déroulement des ateliers et solutions concrètes.

Une base de données est accessible sur demande pour les membres IMS et participants aux ateliers afin de retrouver plus d’informations sur les différents projets, sur l’historique des ateliers ou sur la lutte contre le surendettement au Luxembourg :

  • Ressources et données sur le surendettement
  • Expertise et bonnes pratiques
  • Fiches-projet issues des ateliers