Société de la Bourse de Luxembourg's motivations to participate in IMS Luxembourg’s activities:

As the market operator for shares of Luxembourg companies and a centre of listing for a large number of international securities, the Luxembourg Stock Exchange considers that it is important to contribute, with other stakeholders, to the promotion of corporate social responsibility. The reputation of the Luxembourg Stock Exchange, both nationally and internationally, underlies its adherence to the values of IMS Luxembourg.

 

Société de la Bourse de Luxembourg's CSR policy:

Reflection on CSR is conducted at several levels.

Firstly, we are active in the area of corporate governance, that is to say, the principles that directors and officers of listed companies should apply in order to perform their duties in a spirit of integrity and efficiency. The ten principles of corporate governance cover the role and composition of corporate boards, committees that may arise from them, such as audit, compensation and nominating committees, and their conduct and management. The principles also deal with conduct to follow when dealing with shareholders and investors.

The second area focuses on the initiatives that the Luxembourg Stock Exchange takes to support sustainable finance. The Luxembourg Stock Exchange was one of the founding members of LuxFLAG, an entity active in the microfinance sector, and TIGFI (The Institute for Global Financial Integrity), a primary aim of which is to promote the integrity of financial markets.

In the same vein, the Luxembourg Stock Exchange participated, on 2 November 2009, in a conference entitled "Sustainable Stock Exchanges". This conference, was held at the UN headquarters in New York, brought together around hundred participants and was organized jointly by the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), relevant United Nations Global Compact (UNGC ) and UN PRI (Principles for Responsible Investment) and the World Federation of Exchanges. The Luxembourg Stock Exchange expresses its full support for the various initiatives in the field of socially responsible investment taken by the United Nations and its agencies and is determined, in turn, to continue its efforts to grow this form of investment.

A third area is the promotion of activities and behaviours conducive to sustainable development.

 

Société de la Bourse de Luxembourg's CSR actions and frameworks:

The Luxembourg Stock Exchange and Verkéiersverbond concluded a partnership agreement allowing its employees to benefit from the M-Pass (Mobilitéitspass) public transport ticket. The M-Pass is an annual discounted subscription, exclusively for employees of companies and government entities established in Luxembourg and is valid for the national public transport network of Luxembourg. By signing this partnership agreement, the Luxembourg Stock Exchange is committed to promoting public transport and to comprehensively address the problem of all travel related to its business. With a workforce of 150 employees from nine different countries including neighbouring countries (Germany, Belgium and France), the Luxembourg Stock Exchange is pleased give added support, through this initiative, to its general approach to social responsibility.

A second initiative, of the same order, was the decision of the Luxembourg Stock Exchange to purchase, from the company LEO, renewable energy certificates in accordance with the RECS (Renewable Energy Certificate Systems) certification This decision, taken on 30 June 2008, covers the period of Luxembourg Stock Exchange’s electricity consumption from 1 January 2008 to 31 December 2012.

Electricity supply is based on the ECOMIX formula of LEO, which presented to the Stock Exchange certificates of hydroelectric power and biomass energy, coming from Norwegian and Dutch production sites respectively.

In doing so, the Luxembourg Stock Exchange intends to contribute to efforts to promote renewable energy in Luxembourg.

The final area, which is also the largest, is linked to its human resources policy. In recent years, the Luxembourg Stock Exchange has established a training program for all employees of the company. On another level, the company offers regular medical check-ups to its employees, which plays a preventive role of primary importance and allows interested parties to receive advice and recommendations.

 

For more information, click here

Les motivations de la Société de la Bourse de Luxembourg à participer aux activités d'IMS Luxembourg :

Marché naturel des actions de sociétés luxembourgeoises et centre de cotation d’un très grand nombre de valeurs internationales, la Bourse de Luxembourg estime qu’il lui importe de contribuer, avec d’autres acteurs, à la promotion de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. La notoriété dont jouit la Bourse de Luxembourg, au plan national et à l’étranger, motive l’adhésion aux valeurs dont est porteur l’Institut pour le Mouvement Sociétal au Luxembourg.

 

Les actions RSE mises en place par la Société de la Bourse de Luxembourg :

La réflexion en matière de RSE est menée à plusieurs niveaux.

Une première sphère d’intervention est celle de la gouvernance d’entreprise, c’est-à-dire les principes que les administrateurs et dirigeants de sociétés cotées appliquent pour exercer leurs fonctions dans un esprit d’intégrité et d’efficacité. Les dix principes de gouvernance d’entreprise couvrent le rôle et la composition des conseils d’administration des sociétés, des comités pouvant émaner de ceux-ci, à savoir les comités d’audit, de rémunération et de nomination ainsi que de leurs directions. Ils traitent par ailleurs des relations à entretenir avec les actionnaires et les investisseurs.

Un deuxième champ d’intervention porte sur les initiatives que la Bourse de Luxembourg prend pour soutenir la finance durable. C’est ainsi que la Bourse est devenue l’un des membres fondateurs de LuxFLAG, agence active dans le secteur de la microfinance, et de TIGFI (The Institute for Global Financial Integrity), dont l’objet est notamment de promouvoir l’intégrité des marchés financiers.

Dans le même esprit, la Bourse de Luxembourg a participé, le 2 novembre 2009, à une conférence intitulée « Sustainable Stock Exchanges ». Cette conférence, tenue au siège des Nations-Unies à New York, a rassemblé une centaine de participants et a été organisée conjointement par la Conférence des Nations-Unies sur le Commerce et le Développement (CNUCED), les organisations United Nations Global Compact (UNGC) et UN PRI (Principles for Responsible Investment), et la World Federation of Exchanges. La Bourse de Luxembourg exprime son soutien entier aux différentes initiatives prises dans le domaine de l’investissement socialement responsable par l’Organisation des Nations-Unies et ses agences et est déterminée, pour sa part, à poursuivre ses efforts pour dynamiser cette forme de placement.

Un troisième axe est la promotion d’activités et de comportements favorables à la philosophie du développement durable.

La Bourse de Luxembourg et le Verkéiersverbond ont conclu une convention de partenariat permettant aux employés de la Bourse de Luxembourg de bénéficier du titre de transport spécial M-Pass (Mobilitéitspass). Le M-Pass est un abonnement annuel à tarif réduit, destiné exclusivement aux salariés des entreprises et administrations établies sur le territoire du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg et valable dans tout le réseau national des transports publics. En signant la convention de partenariat, la Bourse de Luxembourg s’engage à promouvoir les transports en commun et à aborder de manière globale la problématique de tous les déplacements liés à son entreprise. Avec un effectif de 150 salariés, de neuf nationalités différentes et dont certains proviennent des pays limitrophes (Allemagne, Belgique et France), la Bourse de Luxembourg se réjouit de soutenir, par cette initiative, sa démarche générale de responsabilité sociale.

Une deuxième initiative, du même ordre, est la décision prise par la Bourse de Luxembourg de souscrire, auprès de la société LEO, des certificats d’énergie renouvelable suivant la certification RECS (« Renewable Energy Certificate Systems »). Cette décision, prise le 30 juin 2008, couvre la période de consommation électrique de la Bourse du 1er janvier 2008 au 31 décembre 2012.

La fourniture d’électricité repose sur la formule ECOMIX de la société LEO qui a remis à la Bourse des certificats d’énergie hydroélectrique et d’énergie biomasse, provenant respectivement d’un site de production norvégien et d’un site de production néerlandais.

Ce faisant, la Bourse de Luxembourg entend apporter sa contribution aux efforts menés pour la promotion de l’énergie renouvelable au Luxembourg.

Enfin, le dernier axe, qui est aussi le plus important, est lié à la politique en matière de ressources humaines. Depuis quelques années, la Bourse a mis en place un programme de formation destiné à l’ensemble des employés de la société. Sur un autre plan, la société a pris la décision de proposer aux employés de se soumettre à un bilan médical régulier, lequel joue un rôle préventif de première importance et permet aux intéressés de recevoir éventuellement conseils et recommandations.

 

Pour plus d'informations, cliquez ici