×

ZERO SINGLE-USE PLASTIC

 

The issue of disposable plastics is now in the spotlight. This long-ignored crisis is massive and has caused us to face an unprecedented pollution phenomenon, that continues to put at risk our entire ecosystem and our health. Today, as a trademark action of IMS, we have developed a dedicated support program.

Last 25th of april, during the Luxembourg Sustainability Forum 2019, the signatory CEOs was given a mark of their commitment.

 

A real race against the clock

It was invented less than a century ago, yet we have produced more than 8 billion tonnes of this material , which is essentially made from hydrocarbons. Designed to last and particularly durable, it is nevertheless intended for very limited uses, even single-use and has become the sad symbol of the ultra disposable. The result is incredible: it is largely non-biodegradable, spreading in the wild, causing massive damage to the environment, the cost of which by 2030 would rise up to 22 billion euros . 6 to 8.5 million tons of plastics are discharged at the oceans each year, at a so frantic rate that in 2050, the seas will contain more plastic mass than fish. If this trend continues, we could find 12 billion tonnes of plastic in landfills and the environment by this time. Single-use plastics alone account for 70% of the waste found on beaches and in the oceans, with plastic waste alone accounting for 85% of ocean pollution.The consequences are catastrophic for the entire ecosystem. More than a million animals die each year. Thus far, 250 species have already ingested plastic, affecting our entire food chain. Over time, this material has transformed into a multitude of microparticles which are extremely hazardous for health and making its collection almost impossible. Today, 72% of drinking water is contaminated in Europe and 83% in the world. Beyond the oceans and rivers, plastic is now found in the drinks and foods we consume and the air we breathe.

Major public health problem, serious damage to biodiversity, significant contribution to global warming, we face an unprecedented multi-faceted phenomenon. 

It is now time to say stop.

On the 11th of September, during its Luxembourg CEO Sustainability Club dinner, IMS called on the participating leaders to sign the Zero Single-Use Plastic manifesto. The objective is clear: eliminating single-use plastic of your company by the end of 2020. To this date, over 50 companies already have signed the manifesto.

#IMSPlasticPledge

The brochure
The Manifesto

 

In partnership with the Ministry of Environment, Climate and Sustainable Development

JOIN THE MOVEMENT, SIGN THE MANIFESTO

IMS launched its Zero Single-Use Plastic manifesto in september 2018, during the annual Luxembourg CEO Sustainability Club. Its goal is simple: To cease the purchase and distribution of single-use plastics by signatory companies by the end of 2020. Concretely, it is about plastic cups, straws, plastic bags, or stirrers... that are designed to be used only once. Today, sustainable alternatives exist.

The manifesto can be signed by any IMS member company that want to take a pledge in the fight against single-use plastics. It must be signed and approved by the company manager and includes 5 commitments:

  1. Implementing in our organisation all the necessary actions to reach the goal of withdrawal of products covered by the "Zero Single-Use Plastic" manifesto by the end of 2020
  2. Supporting sustainable alternatives and integrating a reflection on the use of multipurpose plastics by the organisation to apply the principles of the circular economy
  3. Appointing a Zero Single-Use Plastic ambassador in our organisation, a reference person for this matter
  4. Communication our actions to different stakeholders to raise awarness
  5. Support IMS Luxembourg in this campaign and allow them to engage in discussions with our concerned suppliers to identify sustainable alternatives.

Download the manifesto :

HOW TO SIGN? Contact info@imslux.lu

 

TODAY, ALREADY 58 SIGNATORIES!

News

Our annual forum, which has become a key event when it comes to CSR in Luxembourg, took place on April the 25th  at the Cercle Cité, under the headline "Zero Single-Use Plastic: Choose to Refuse".

A large part of the program were dedicated to the topic of single-use plastics, with a circuit dedicated to ambassadors, that includes

  • The official ceremony of the manifesto, where the signatory CEOs was given a mark of their commitment
  • A TV set with different concrete solutions discussed during our working group
  • Two exhibitions on the theme of plastic pollution, including a collection of the works of Alejandro Duran, photographer

 

A dedicated contact

IMS is steadfast in working with its members to help them transition these new practices within their companies. During a period of 2 years, IMS will provide the signatories with a dedicated contact that will listen and work with their employees to develop ideas and strategies around ending single-use plastic.

Contact: 
+352 26 25 80 13
info@imslux.lu

An engaging manifesto

Your goal is also ours: To eliminate single-use plastic within your company by the end of the year 2020. Your first step towards this achievement is marked by the signature of the manifesto, possible as of September 2018. This will be relayed publicly through the media and formalized at our next forum in early 2019. 

Do you want to sign the manifesto ? All you need to do is to contact us and we will send you the pledge document.

 

A pioneer working group

With the creation of a pioneer working group in October 2018, IMS and the member of this group will begin exploring and developing a framework to identify concrete solutions. On the agenda, we will look at the audit of plastic waste in companies, the analysis of alternatives to disposable plastic and the contribution to a special best-practices booklet. 

  • The first meeting of the "Zero Single Use Plastic: Exploring Solutions" working group was held on October 17, 2018. Discover photos of the event:

Zero Single-Use Plastic : explorer les solutions le 17 octobre 2018

 

Topical workshops - Stay tuned for next meetings

 

In partnership with the Ministry of Environment, Climate and Sustainable Development

To support you best throughout your process, the workshops and working groups are divided into 3 themes: office supplies, catering and event

×

ZERO SINGLE-USE PLASTIC

 
La question des plastiques jetables s'invite désormais régulièrement dans les media. Leur impact longtemps ignoré est massif et nous sommes face à un phénomène de pollution sans précédent, plaçant sous risque l'ensemble de notre écosystème et notre propre santé. Aujourd'hui, IMS en fait son cheval de bataille et accompagne ses membres dans leur démarche d'élimination des plastiques à usage unique. Rejoignez le mouvement !
 
 

Le 25 avril 2019, lors du Luxembourg Sustainability Forum 2019, les CEO signataires du manifeste Zero Single-Use Plastic se sont vus remettre une marque de leur engagement.

 
 
Une véritable course contre la montre
 
En moins d’un siècle depuis son invention, nous avons produit plus de 8 milliards de tonnes de plastique. Conçu pour durer et particulièrement résistant, il est pourtant destiné à des usages très limités, voire uniques et devient le triste symbole de l’ultra-jetable. 

Le résultat est aberrant : très majoritairement non biodégradable, il se répand dans la nature avec des dommages massifs sur l’environnement dont le coût d’ici à 2030 s’élèverait à 22 milliards d’euros. 6 à 8,5 millions de tonnes de plastiques rejoignent les océans chaque année à un rythme si effréné qu’en 2050, les mers contiendront plus de masse plastique que de poissons. Les plastiques à usages unique constituent à eux seuls 70% des déchets trouvés sur les plages et dans les océans, les déchets plastiques constituant à eux seuls 85% de la pollution des océans. Si cette tendance venait à perdurer, nous pourrions retrouver 12 milliards de tonnes de plastique dans les décharges et l’environnement d’ici cette date. Les conséquences sont catastrophiques sur l’ensemble de l’écosystème. Plus d’un million d’animaux en meurent chaque année. À ce jour, 250 espèces ont déjà ingéré du plastique, affectant l’ensemble de notre chaîne alimentaire. Avec le temps, ce matériau se transforme en une multitude de microparticules extrêmement dommageables pour la santé et rendant sa récupération quasi impossible. Aujourd’hui, 72 % de l’eau potable est contaminée en Europe et 83% dans le monde.  Au-delà des océans et des cours d’eau, le plastique se trouve désormais dans les boissons et aliments que nous consommons et dans l’air que nous respirons.  

Problème de santé publique majeur, atteinte grave à la biodiversité, contribution notable au réchauffement climatique, nous faisons face à un phénomène multiforme sans précédent. 

Il est temps de dire stop.

Le 11 septembre 2018, à l'occasion du dîner annuel du Luxembourg CEO Sustainability Club, IMS a appelé les dirigeants présents à signer le manifeste Zero Single-Use Plastic. L'objectif est simple : éliminer le plastique à usage unique des entreprises d'ici la fin de l'année 2020. A ce jour, plus de 60 entreprises ont signé le manifeste.

 

Une cellule dédiée 

IMS vous accompagne tout au long de votre démarche, de l’état des lieux à l’atteinte de votre objectif grâce à la mise en place de nouvelles pratiques. Un contact dédié est à tout moment à votre écoute. Vous serez également en relation avec les autres membres et parties prenantes engagés dans cette démarche.

Contact:
tél: +352 26 25 80 13

info@imslux.lu

#IMSPlasticPledge

La brochure
Le Manifeste

 

En partenariat avec le Ministère de l'Environnement, du Climat et du Développement durable

 

REJOIGNEZ LE MOUVEMENT, SIGNEZ LE MANIFESTE

IMS a lancé son manifeste Zero Single-Use Plastic en septembre 2018, à l’occasion du dîner annuel du Luxembourg CEO Sustainability Club. Son objectif : mettre un terme à l’achat et à la distribution des plastiques à usage unique par les entreprises d’ici fin 2020. Concrètement, il s’agit des gobelets, pailles, sacs plastiques, ou autres touillettes... qui sont conçus pour ne servir qu’une fois. Aujourd’hui des alternatives durables existent.

Le manifeste peut être signé par toute entreprise membre d’IMS qui souhaite s’engager dans la lutte contre le plastique à usage unique. Il doit être émargé et approuvé par le dirigeant de l’entreprise et comporte 5 engagements :

  1. Mettre en oeuvre dans l’organisation signataire toutes les actions nécessaires pour atteindre d’ici fin 2020 l’objectif de retrait des produits visés par le manifeste « Zero Single-Use Plastic »
  2. Soutenir les alternatives durables et intégrer une réflexion sur l’usage des plastiques à usage multiple par l’organisation pour y appliquer les principes de l’économie circulaire
  3. Nommer un.e ambassadeur.rice Zero Single-Use Plastic, personne référente sur le sujet
  4. Communiquer les actions réalisées à différentes parties prenantes afin de sensibiliser le plus grand nombre
  5. Soutenir IMS Luxembourg dans cette campagne et lui permettre si besoin d’engager des discussions avec les fournisseurs concernés afin d’identifier des solutions durables de remplacement.

Téléchargez le manifeste :

COMMENT SIGNER ? Contactez info@imslux.lu
 

AUJOURD'HUI DÉJÀ 68 ORGANISATIONS ONT SIGNÉ !

 

Lors de l’édition 2019 de notre forum annuel, le Luxembourg Sustainability Forum, devenu un évènement incontournable de la RSE au Luxembourg , le sujet des plastiques à usage unique et plus spécialement notre projet Zero Single-Use Plastic a été l’une des 4 thématiques principales choisies.

Une grande partie du programme était donc dédiée à cette problématique, avec notamment :

  • La cérémonie officielle où les CEO signataires du manifeste se sont vus remettre une marque de leur engagement
  • Un plateau TV reprenant différentes solutions concrètes abordées lors de notre groupe de travail
  • Deux expositions sur le thème de la pollution plastique, dont une rassemblant les œuvres d’Alejandro Duran, photographe « écoartistique »

 

 

En partenariat avec le Ministère de l'Environnement, du Climat et du Développement Durable