Galerie Clairefontaine’s motivations to participate in IMS Luxembourg’s activities:

The Gallery Clairefontaine is convinced that art can be an important tool to raise awareness on environmental and social issues, e.g by Drawing a clear picture of our human impact on the environment:
This year, in the framework of the Photomeetings Luxembourg event on the topic of „man-made landscapes and fake nature“, the Gallery showed photographs by international artists addressing the topic of our human impact on the environment. The pictures tell a spooky tale about our human actions by giving us a bird-eye perspective of the practices of cattle farming, corn production and gas extraction, which are normally hidden from the public view. The latter remind us how our pursuit of profit continues to devastate our own habitat.

Furthermore, in 2015, the Gallery invited eco-artist HA Schult to show his project „Trash people“ at the Place Clairefontaine. “Trash people” consists of 220 human-sized sculptures made out of garbage and trashcans, to sensibilise society about human waste production and littering patterns. Additionally, the Gallery addressed the topic of water pollution by showing his series „Aqua Pictures“. In order to create awareness about this important topic, the eco-artist undertook a trip from Paris to Peking in a hybrid car, during which he took water samples from puddles, rivers and lakes. The microscopic images of these water drops where then enlarged to let „nature paint itself“, indicating water pollution levels in Europe and Asia through his photographs.

Galerie Clairefontaine’s CSR policy:

Raising awareness on social issues through photography: on several occasions, the Gallery worked with anti-war photographers such as James Nachtwey, by showing testimony pictures of wars, diseases and famines in the world. These photographs draw attention to traumatic events and the urgent necessity to avoid those in the future.

Galerie Clairefontaine’s CSR actions and frameworks:

For the Gallery, international collaboration and education through the arts is also an important topic. As such, the Gallery joined forces with the NGO CARE during their “Sport for Social Change programme - Who am I?”“, by organizing an exhibition showing the Kenyan girls’ self-portraits. Furthermore, the Gallery provided a platform for the NGO Friendship to show the work of photographers who have documented the activities of the first hospital ship in Bangladesh.

The Gallery also organized exhibitions in collaboration with the Gugging House of Artists, located near Vienna. By means of art therapy, the center is today known for its important work in helping patients with mental illnesses to reintegrate into society through their art.

For more information, click here

Les motivations de la Galerie Clairefontaine à participer aux activités d'IMS :

La Galerie Clairefontaine est convaincue que l'art peut être un outil important de sensibilisation aux enjeux environnementaux et sociaux, par exemple en dressant un portrait précis de notre impact humain sur l'environnement: Cette année, dans le cadre de l'événement Photomeetings Luxembourg sur les « paysages artificiels et la fausse nature », la galerie a présenté des photographies d'artistes internationaux abordant le thème de notre impact humain sur l'environnement. Les images racontent une histoire effrayante au sujet de nos actions humaines en nous donnant une perspective des pratiques de l'élevage bovin, de la production de maïs et de l'extraction de gaz, qui sont normalement cachées de la vue du public. Ce dernier nous rappelle comment notre quête du profit continue de dévaster notre propre habitat.

De plus, en 2015, la Galerie a invité l'artiste HA Schult à présenter son projet « Trash people » sur la Place Clairefontaine. Les "Trash people" sont constitués de 220 sculptures à taille humaine fabriquées à partir de déchets, afin de sensibiliser la société à la production des ordures. La galerie a également abordé le thème de la pollution de l'eau en présentant sa série "Aqua Pictures". Afin de sensibiliser à ce sujet important, l'éco-artiste a entrepris un voyage de Paris à Pékin dans une voiture hybride, au cours de laquelle il a prélevé des échantillons d'eau dans des flaques, des rivières et des lacs. Les images microscopiques de ces gouttes d'eau ont ensuite été agrandies pour laisser la « nature se peindre », indiquant les niveaux de pollution de l'eau en Europe et en Asie à travers ses photographies.

La politique RSE de la Galerie Clairefontaine : 

Sensibilisation aux enjeux sociaux par la photographie: à plusieurs reprises, la Galerie a travaillé avec des photographes anti-guerre comme James Nachtwey, en montrant des témoignages de guerres, de maladies et de famines dans le monde. Ces photographies attirent l'attention sur des événements traumatisants et sur la nécessité urgente d'éviter celles qui pourraient se produire dans le futur.

Les actions RSE mises en place par la Galerie Clairefontaine :

Pour la Galerie, la collaboration internationale et l'éducation artistique sont également un sujet important. À ce titre, la Galerie s'est associée à l'ONG CARE dans le cadre de son programme « Sport pour le changement social - Qui suis-je? », en organisant une exposition présentant les autoportraits des filles kényanes. De plus, la Galerie a fourni une plate-forme à l'ONG Friendship pour montrer le travail des photographes qui ont documenté les activités du premier navire-hôpital au Bangladesh.

La galerie a également organisé des expositions en collaboration avec la Gugging House of Artists, située près de Vienne. Grâce à l'art-thérapie, le centre est aujourd'hui reconnu pour son important travail visant à aider les patients atteints de maladies mentales à se réinsérer dans la société grâce à leur art.

 

Pour plus d'informations, cliquez ici